Stupid head cold

Standard

So Friday-ish I started feeling sort of crappy, and by Sunday evening I was falling asleep in the car on the way home from the festive holiday buffet at Mother’s.  I am not the falling asleep in the car type, with a few rare exceptions, and if I take naps then it means I’m feeling really crummy.

Ended up staying home yesterday and today, and today felt even worse than yesterday.  Ugh.

However, tomorrow I have things to do at work, and with looking at taking some time off in the next couple of weeks (in three day chunks) I had best drug myself up with cold remedy and bite the bullet.

Holding down the couch for two days means less Helga time, but I’ll be back in it hopefully by Friday.

In other news, we’re going to attempt to put gifts under the tree tonight.  The fear is that Max will chew on them, but we have bitter apple to spray on them.  Perhaps if we put gifts under the tree the large main dog, Otto, will stop dragging the tree skirt out from under the tree so he can mush it around and sleep on it.

Also, at the festive holiday buffet at Mother’s — Mom has this nativity set she got in Mexico when I was in middle school.  It features the usual Wise Men, Mary, Joseph, the manger, Baby Jesus — and, inexplicably, a hedgehog.  And it turns out that the hedgehog is roughly the same size and shape as the Baby Jesus.  And so it has become traditional for my brother and myself to swap the two and see how long it takes her to notice.

Today I received a text from Mother:  “Whichever one of you merry pranksters bet it would take me until Tuesday to discover the hedgehog in the manger wins.”

Another poignant holiday tradition observed.  *tear*

Leave a Reply

