It’s cold!

Standard

It’s like Antarctica cold!

Nanook of the North couldn’t take this cold!

I’m not sure if I can stay here if it’s going to be this cold!

… So it’s like 19 degrees tonight, which is just about the point where the furnace explodes and the car flips over on its back and wriggles its wheels ineffectually in the air before it freezes to death.  For us, this is cold.  Yes, I know it’s much colder in other places every year, but for us this is really cold!  Give us a break, you midwesterners!  We are a temperate people.

I’m feeling saucy about the whole thing because I did remember to cover the faucets with those styrofoam doo-dads to keep them from exploding or whatever it is they do, and also because I filled the bird feeder and put out some suet in a cage for them.  This keeps the cats busy watching the birds and complaining about how much we suck for making them stay inside.  Ha!  Grow thumbs, you little monsters!  WHO’S YOUR DADDY!

Whatever’s wrong with me, I know it’s not carbon monoxide from the furnace because it’s electric.  Right?

Also, let me express my gratitude that the dog is off his antibiotics now and we can all re-grow the hairs in our noses, which had been singed off by the frequent and vigorous emanations from said dog’s Back Forty.  Evidently this particular antibiotic was particularly onerous to the dog’s interior.  On the positive side, if there had been any fleas or vermin in the house they have been effectively gassed to death.  O Heroic Dog!  How little we appreciate ye.

One response »

  1. “…where the furnace explodes and the car flips over on its back and wriggles its wheels ineffectually in the air before it freezes to death.”

    Loved that imagery!

    I’m not a cold person either. I don’t know why I keep living in the northeast. I wouldn’t make it a day in Minnesota in January, that’s for sure. Those people are crazy.

Leave a Reply

